Golf has been played over the historic West Links course since the 17th century, and people continue to play over the same piece of land as they did back then. The club has a great tradition of attracting golfers from all over the world to experience a unique and world-renowned golf course – The West Links. A recent refurbishment has seen the Clubhouse facilities enhanced to match the reputation of the course. The upstairs lounges where food is available all day has stunning views not only of the 19th green, but the 1st tee, the beach, harbour and Firth of Forth islands. Visitors and their partners are invited to have a meal and a drink and soak up the view and atmosphere. North Berwick Golf Course is situated in Scotland’s Lothian region with notable nearby courses consisting of Dunbar, Muirfield and Gullane golf courses.
The West Links Course is a true links located on the edge of the Firth of Forth. It is among the world’s oldest courses, dating back to 1832. It’s said to be the world’s third-oldest golf course played on its original fairways — only St. Andrews (Old) and Musselburgh (Old) are older. It is a championship course having hosted many events over the years. Playing the course is all about imagination with the sea in play on 6 holes. The beach is just one long and sometimes wet hazard if the tide is in. You will find walls in the middle of fairways and in front of a green.
All of these hazards are an important part North Berwick’s history charting the development of the course from a few holes through to the full 18-hole course. The 190-yard 15th hole is the original redan. By definition, a redan generally refers to a green that slopes from right to left and wraps around a deep bunker situated on the low-left side, and ever since originating at North Berwick, the redan has been replicated more than any other design in golf.
The original Clubhouse was built in 1880 and has been developed over the years to satisfy the needs of the members and the growing number of visitors to the Club each year. The original clubhouse was a single-story building and housed the lockers of the Members’ at the time. This is now the Club’s formal Dining Room and features the original lockers,Past Captains pictures and main honours boards. Modern changing facilities for both ladies and men are available on the ground floor. Their facilities include bag storage, holdall and valuable lockers in bot changing rooms, and modern showers with linen towels. The Clubhouse was refurbished in 2008 and presents the perfect environment for pre and post refreshment and reflection on your game.
Bar & Lounge
The bar is located on the upper floor in the east and west lounges and has spectacular views of the 18th green, 1st tee, the town, harbour and Firth of Forth islands. It is the perfect place to sit back with your favourite drink and reflect on the game. The bar has a wide range of beers, wines and spirits to choose from. Food is served in the bar area 7 days per week until 6:00pm (April – October) and 4:00pm (November – March).